CDR Home


Roger Waters - 2006-07-16 - Moons And Stars Festival (rec.1)


Roger Waters

2006-07-16 "Moon and Stars Festival" Grande Piazza, Locarno Switzerland

Master Audience MD Recording, taped by Nigel approx 30yds from Center of stage


Sony MZ-R55 with Sony ECM719 mics > WAV > CDR > EAC > Flac Fronted (on level 8) > FLAC



I arrived at the Grande Piazza just as Roger Waters was coming to the end of his soundcheck, hearing the opening chords to In The Flesh, it was a wonderful experience. It's a shame I hadn't arrived in time to record this soundcheck.

I had arrived in good time so as to eat in one of the restaurants around the Grande Piazza, and after finishing my meal and having a drink, just before 7pm the Piazza was cleared so that people could then come back in after showing their tickets. The Security came into the restaurants, and anyone who had a ticket could give up their stub and stay, otherwise they were asked to leave. Just after 7pm I saw people running past to get to the front of the stage. I quickly got a drink of water as it was very close and muggy, and made my way to the front of the stage. I didn't hurry because I didn't really want to be too close. I settled down about 30 yards from the front of the stage and dead in the center. It proved an excellent position to get a good view of all of the members of the band and a perfect position to record from.

What a wonderful show it was, with some really fine performances from all the band members. Andy Fairweather Low came to the front to provide lead guitar for Leaving Beirut, which had been done earlier by Snowy White (evident on the Live in Rio DVD). The audience were pretty well behaved and apart from a few people near me occasionally chatting it made a great atmosphere.

I managed to record the complete show including all of the applause for the encores so as not to miss anything. I used a Sony ECM719 microphone which is perfect for my Sony MZR55 MiniDisc recorder, clipped to the back of a sports cap worn with the peak facing backwards. This ensured that the microphones were at their highest position possible in order to get a crisp clear sound. The end result is an absolutely stunning recording, it surprised me that I could get such a superb recording from the audience.

Apart from a suitable fade-in and fade-out for each disc no other editing was required. I challenge anyone who can match or exceed this quality for an audience recording.




DISC 1 [73:40]


01. In The Flesh 5:33
02. Mother 5:10
03. Set The Controls ... 6:36
04. Shine On You Crazy Diamond 8:43
05. Have A Cigar 5:12
06. Wish You Were Here 6:01
07. Southampton Dock 2:51
08. The Fletcher Memorial Home 4:14
09. Perfect Sense Part 1 4:17
10. Perfect Sense Part 2 3:32
11. Intro to Leaving Beirut 0:46
12. Leaving Beirut 10:09
13. Sheep 10:28


DISC 2 [65:26]

Dark Side of the Moon [42:50]

01. Speak To Me 1:08
02. Breathe 2:47
03. On The Run 3:32
04. Time 5:55
05. Breathe (Reprise) 1:10
06. The Great Gig In The Sky 4:40
07. Money 6:28
08. Us And Them 7:40
09. Any Colour You Like 3:25
10. Brain Damage 4:06
11. Eclipse (incl Applause for Encores) 1:46/1:58

12. Band Introductions 1.34
13. The Happiest Days of Our Lives 1.42
14. Another Brick In The Wall (Pt 2) 5.40
15. Vera 1.14
16. Bring the Boys back Home 1.41
17. Comfortably Numb 8.45



Do not encode to any lossy format !!!
Do not remaster !!!